Zoe’s First Christmas

28 Dec

This was Zoe’s first Christmas,it’s hard to believe because it seems like she has been with me forever.  We blend seamlessly and are rarely more then a few feet apart.

Like everyone in our house Zoe also got a small stocking from Santa,filled with fun toys and a puppy scent puzzle that she really enjoys,but has already figured out. There were doggie goodies to munch on and it seemed like a success for everyone,2 and 4 legged.

During the holiday rush between Black Friday and Christmas Eve I really slowed her public training to a trip or 2 a week.  She was pretty vocal about letting me know her opinion on her being left behind. On Christmas Eve I had to go to the mall and pick up Christmas Eve/Day dinner(Chik Fil A)and  a final present. I had so much on my mind I didn’t think about the day and asked Zoe to go,she got so excited about getting dressed that once I realized I didn’t have the heart to tell her”no”. So at 5pm on Christmas Eve Zoe was at our local mall headed to Game Stop. I was pretty relieved  that the mall was as packed as I’d imagined and that Zoe is very focused on her training. We walked through the mall with our heads up,and a bit of a “I dare you”look in my eye. Getting in and out of Game Stop was really easy,and of course Zoe was perfect. Next we had to make our way to Chik Fil A get our HUGE platter of nuggets.  I misjudged the time,because we were about 10 minutes early to pick it up which ended up being a good thing,it gave us a chance to practice “go under”the table. We haven’t gotten a chance to practice this in public,so this gave me a chance to see how she was doing. The results were mixed,she went under the table without a problem,and she didn’t surf the floor. The less then stellar was she wouldn’t stay down for very long.  I’m not sure if she was distracted,or if she didn’t like the cold tile on her tummy. Either way this makes it towards the top of the training list. Either way I have to be proud of her training and the way she handles herself,she was just 2 days over 6 months old. She continues to make me very proud and I’m always in awe as she is wise beyond her months. If training keeps going this well by this time next year she should be a full fledged service dog.

Leave a comment